aws First Inkubator

Frequently Asked Questions

 

Who can participate?

Anyone who

  • who has an idea and a team of 2 to 4 people and would like to become self-employed
  • is between the ages of 18 and 30 at the time of application
  • has not yet established a company with the project being submitted

 

How will I be supported by aws First?

  • Financially: Each team member receives (on a voluntary basis) a grant totalling € 4,800, which is paid in 12 monthly instalments. Project costs will also be financed in the course of ongoing implementation. Each team can collect a project budget of up to € 20,000.
  • Mentoring: Mentoring (by experienced founders) for one year (minimum of 8 meetings)
  • Training: During several workshops, experts help you and your team to develop your idea into a business model. Details regarding the topics can be found on the following pages.
  • Office facility: Leasing of co-working spaces in the Austrian federal states
  • Networking: By going on excursions and participating in start-up scene events and the regular aws First community meet-ups, you have the chance to exchange ideas with other young entrepreneurs.

 

Does it cost anything to participate in the aws First Start-up Lab?

No. aws First is a support programme. We fully assume all costs for services provided within the framework of aws First.

 

Do I need to have an idea to get involved?

If you want to start your own team, then yes. But you can also join an already existing team within the Team-up! initiative. For instance, if you can present well and enjoy communicating with people, then you could help out a team that still needs this particular skill!

 

Do I need to have a team to get involved?

Yes. The application is done as a team (2-4 people). For you to be able to optimally divide your work, it is of course best if there are four of you. If you do not already have a team, you can still find one on our Facebook page or register with us so that we can connect you.

 

How much time do I need to set aside to participate in the aws First Start-up Lab?

Should you progress to the second round after your application (about which you will of course be notified by us in good time), you and your team are obliged to take part in the aws First Start-up Camp. Only those who participate in the Start-up Camp can also participate in the Start-up Lab.

From January to December 2020, there will be 4 blocked training sessions (in each case Friday-Saturday/Sunday). Depending on where the teams come from, these workshops can take place in Vienna but also in the federal states. In addition, the aws First reality check workshops are held throughout the year (usually on Fridays). We assume the travel expenses for this. Outside of the training sessions you will of course work intensively on the further development of your project, because in spring you will present yourself to the jury with an elaborate business plan.

To help you better concentrate on your project for a whole year, we will pay you the monthly grant.

 

Which contents are covered in the trainings?

Topics covered in the blocked training sessions:

  • Customer group analysis and customer benefits
  • Competition analysis & prototyping
  • Solution development & value proposition
  • Business model creation
  • Market analysis, market entry & financials

Topics covered in the 1-day workshops:

  • Storytelling & pitch training
  • Patent, copyright & trademark law
  • Taxes & corporate forms
  • Financing & funding
  • Start-up marketing & sales
  • Fundraising

 

Is it possible to study/work during the course of the Start-up Lab?

Yes. What you do besides participating in the programme is of course up to you. However, please keep in mind that developing a business idea is not a part-time job, but requires a lot of energy and motivation. Therefore, we tend to advise against working full-time next to the Start-up Lab.

 

Do I have to live in Vienna to be able to participate in the Start-up Lab?

No. aws is a national funding agency and our aim is therefore to provide equal support to all federal states. We coordinate the mentors, the co-working spaces and the locations for the training sessions with the team members' places of residence. The aws assumes the travel costs for all programme-specific events for which travel is required.

 

What happens at the Start-up Camp?

At the Start-up Camp, we want to give our jury the opportunity to personally get to know you and your team.

During this weekend, you have the chance to prove to the jury that you have what it takes to be an entrepreneur. We will be able to determine this through various team tasks and workshops. On top of that, the teams get to know each other better while being surrounded by Austria's beautiful nature and can certainly profit from the feedback of the others.

Simply participating in the Start-up Camp is already a great distinction, because you are among the best applicant teams!

 

When can you apply?

All relevant information concerning the application process can be found on our homepage www.aws.at/first.

Be sure to visit our Facebook page regularly for more information https://www.facebook.com/awsfirstcommunity/.

 

Can I withdraw from the aws First Start-up Lab?

Yes. Should you realise that self-employment is not the right path for you after all, you can always choose to discontinue the programme. If you wish, we can take care of replacing your role in your team. If you wish to withdraw, please communicate this immediately to the aws First project management as well as your team.

 

Our FAQs are of course intended to be continually updated with your questions. If there are any unanswered questions, do not hesitate to contact us:

e.troescher@aws.at

aws First Inkubator

Fragen und Antworten

 

Wer kann teilnehmen?

Jede/r, die/der

  • sich mit einer Idee und einem Team von 2 bis 4 Personen selbstständig machen möchte
  • zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung zwischen 18 und 30 Jahre alt ist
  • mit dem einzureichenden Projekt noch kein Unternehmen gegründet hat

 

Wie werde ich im Rahmen von aws First Inkubator unterstützt?

  • Finanziell: Jedes Teammitglied erhält (auf freiwilliger Basis) ein Stipendium von insgesamt € 4.800, das in 12 Monatsraten ausbezahlt wird. Auch Projektkosten werden im Zuge der weiteren Umsetzung finanziert. Jedes Team kann sich ein Projektbudget von bis € 20.000 abholen.
  • Mentoring: Mentoring (durch erfahrene Gründer/innen) für ein Jahr (mindestens 8 Treffen)
  • Training: In mehreren Workshops helfen Expert/innen dir und deinem Team, aus eurer Idee ein Geschäftsmodell zu entwickeln. Details zu den Themen findest du auf den nächsten Seiten.
  • Büro-Möglichkeit: Anmietung von Co-Working-Spaces in den Bundesländern — Networking: Durch Exkursionen und Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen der Gründerszene und den regelmäßigen aws First Community Meet-ups hast du die Chance dich mit anderen Jungunternehmer/innen auszutauschen.

 

Kostet die Teilnahme am aws First Start-up Lab etwas?
Nein. aws First ist ein Unterstützungsprogramm. Alle Kosten für Leistungen, die wir im Rahmen von aws First anbieten, werden zur Gänze von uns übernommen.

 

Muss ich eine Idee haben, um mitmachen zu können?
Wenn du ein eigenes Team gründen willst, ja. Du kannst aber im Rahmen des Team-up! auch zu einem bereits bestehenden Team hinzukommen. Wenn du zum Beispiel gut präsentieren kannst und gerne mit Menschen kommunizierst, dann hilfst du zum Beispiel einem Team, das diese Fähigkeit noch braucht!

 

Muss ich ein Team haben, um mitmachen zu können?
Ja. Die Bewerbung erfolgt als Team (2-4 Personen). Damit ihr eure Arbeit ideal aufteilen könnt, ist es natürlich am besten ihr seid zu viert. Wenn du noch kein Team hast, dann kannst du dieses über unsere Facebook-Seite noch finden oder bei uns anmelden, damit wir dich vermitteln können.

 

Wie viel Zeit muss ich mir für die Teilnahme am aws First Start-up Lab nehmen?
Wenn du nach der Bewerbung in die zweite Runde kommst (worüber du natürlich rechtzeitig von uns verständigt wirst), nehmen du und dein Team verpflichtend am aws First Start-up Camp teil. Nur wer am Start-up Camp teilnimmt, kann auch am Start-up Lab teilnehmen.
Von Jänner bis Dezember 2020 finden 4-mal geblockte Training Sessions (jeweils Freitag- Samstag/Sonntag) statt. Je nach Herkunft der Teams können diese Workshops in Wien aber auch in den Bundesländern stattfinden. Zusätzlich finden über das Jahr verteilt die aws First Reality-
Check Workshops statt (meist freitags). Die Reisekosten dafür übernehmen wir. Außerhalb der Trainings arbeitet ihr natürlich intensiv an der Weiterentwicklung eures Projekts, denn im Frühjahr stellt ihr euch mit einem ausgearbeiteten Geschäftsplan der Jury. Damit ihr euch für ein Jahr besser auf die Projektarbeit konzentrieren könnt, bekommt ihr von uns das monatliche Stipendium.

 

Welche Inhalte werden in den Trainings abgedeckt?

Themen der geblocktenTraining-Sessions:

  • KundInnengruppenanalyse und KundInnennutzen
  • Konkurrenzanalyse & Prototyping
  • Solution Development & Value Proposition
  • Business Model Creation
  • Marktanalyse, Market Entry & Financials

Themen der 1tägigen-Workshops:

  • Storytelling & Pitchtraining
  • Patent-, Urheber- & Markenrecht
  • Steuern & Gesellschaftsformen
  • Financing & Funding
  • Startup Marketing & Sales
  • Fundraising

 

Kann ich neben dem Start-up Lab studieren/arbeiten?
Ja. Was du neben der Teilnahme am Programm tust, ist natürlich dir überlassen. Bitte bedenke aber, dass die Entwicklung einer Geschäftsidee kein Nebenjob ist, sondern einiges an Energie und Motivation abverlangt. Von einem Vollzeit-Job neben dem Start-up Lab raten wir also eher ab.

 

Muss ich in Wien wohnen, um am Start-up Lab teilnehmen zu können?
Nein. Die aws ist eine nationale Förderstelle und unser Ziel ist es deshalb alle Bundesländer gleichermaßen zu fördern. Wir stimmen die MentorInnen, die Co-Working-Spaces und die Locations für die Trainings auf die Wohnorte der Teammitglieder ab. Für alle programmspezifischen Veranstaltungen, zu denen es einer Anreise bedarf, übernimmt die aws die Reisekosten.

 

Was passiert im Start-up Camp?
Im Start-up Camp wollen wir unserer Jury die Möglichkeit geben, dich und dein Team persönlich kennen zu lernen.
An diesem Wochenende habt ihr die Chance der Jury zu beweisen, dass ihr das Zeug zum Unternehmer / zur Unternehmerin habt. Dies werden wir anhand verschiedener Teamaufgaben und Workshops herausfinden. Außerdem lernen sich hier die Teams umgeben von Österreichs schöner Natur näher kennen und können sicherlich auch vom Feedback der anderen profitieren.
Allein die Teilnahme am Start-up Camp ist bereits eine große Auszeichnung, denn ihr seid unter den besten BewerberInnen-Teams!

 

Wann kann man sich bewerben?
Alle relevanten Informationen rund um die Bewerbung findest du auf der Homepage www.aws.at/first.
Besuche regelmäßig unsere Facebook-Seite für mehr Infos .

 

Kann ich aus dem aws First Start-up Lab aussteigen?
Ja. Solltest du bemerken, dass die Selbstständigkeit doch nicht der richtige Weg für dich ist, kannst du jederzeit das Programm verlassen. Wenn gewünscht, können wir uns um die Nachbesetzung deiner Rolle in deinem Team kümmern. Wenn du aussteigen möchtest, bitten wir dich, dies umgehend an das aws First Projektmanagement und dein Team zu kommunizieren.

Unsere FAQ’s sind natürlich dazu da, jederzeit um eure Fragen erweitert zu werden. Falls es also noch offene Fragen geben sollte, richtet diese einfach an:

e.troescher@aws.at

Newsletter

Jetzt registrieren und informiert bleiben! 

Jetzt anmelden!