Legal basis

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice Gesellschaft mbH was established by the Austria Wirtschaftsservice - Establishment Act (BGBI. 130/2002) with effect as of 31 December 2001 by way of a special legal provision of 1 October 2002.

The tasks of the aws

  • awarding and executing business related funding by the state
  • providing financing and consulting services that are in the public interest and support the economy
    In particular, these tasks include
  • awarding and executing grants and other means of financing in line with the Guarantees Act and the SME Subsidies Act
  • fostering innovation and innovation consulting for the benefit of the Austrian economy
  • executing aid according to the Federal Law on Promoting the Labour Market (AMFG) and procuring tasks and business of the ERP Fund
  • providing and executing funding grants and other means of financing as well as acquiring business services that are passed to the company by law or winding-up Agreement
  • providing consultancy services, especially to the state, the creation of recommendations for the multi-year programmes and the implementation of the multi-year programmes approved by the Federal Minister for Finance and the Federal Minister of Science, Research and Economy

Owner | Clients

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice Gesellschaft mbH (aws) is the Austrian federal promotional bank and is 100% owned by the Federal Republic of Austria. The Federal Ministry Digital and Economic Affairs (BMDW) and the Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) act as owner representatives.

The aws renders its services as part of its public mandate. The clients are the owners (BMDW and BMVIT) along with further federal ministries, federal states, public authorities and advocacy groups.
The aws acts as a one-stop shop.


  • Federal Ministry Digital and Economic Affairs
  • Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology


The aws’ clients include ministries, organisations and institutes amongst others (selection - in alphabetical order):

  • Federal Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Consumer Protection
  • Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management
  • Federal Ministry of Education
  • Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology
  • Federal Ministry Digital and Economic Affairs
  • National Foundation for Research, Technology & Development
  • Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development
  • Austrian Chamber of Commerce