IPCEI Important Projects of Common European Interest

News

After the approval of the first IPCEI Hydrogen (Hy2Tech) in July this year, the European Commission also approved the second Important Project of Common European Interest in the field of hydrogen on September 21, 2022. Austria participates in this so-called IPCEI (Important Projects of Common European Interest) Hy2Use with a focus on the decarbonization of the industry through the application of renewable hydrogen with a highly innovative consortium project of two Austrian companies.

For further information on the IPCEI Hy2Use, please refer to the press release of the BMK.

About IPCEI - Important Projects of Common European Interest

The European Union has launched a unique regulatory instrument to strengthen strategically important European value chains - the IPCEI. The objective is to promote transnational cooperation ranging from development and innovation to first-time industrial implementation, as well as key infrastructure projects in the environmental, energy, and transport sectors through state aid (for further information please refer to the website of the BMK).

Initiatives under the IPCEI are focused on strategically significant projects in which a limited number of companies or research institutions may take part after being nominated by participating member states of the European Union or states of the European Economic Area and being notified by the European Commission or the EFTA Surveillance Authority. Consequently, these individual projects are usually supported by the respective Member State with state aid outside GBER (General Block Exemption Regulation).

At present, nine Austrian companies are actively engaged in two initiatives of common European interest - including one in the domain of batteries and a second initiative focusing on microelectronics (ME). Furthermore, Austria envisions participating in three other IPCEI initiatives currently being implemented - an additional project in the area of microelectronics with a focus on Connecting Technologies (ME/CT) as well as two IPCEI related to renewable hydrogen (H2) specifically targeting technological development (Hy2Tech) and the decarbonization of industrial sectors (Hy2Use), respectively. In parallel, constant discussions are underway concerning collaboration on potential further IPCEI initiatives (currently for IPCEI Photovoltaic).

On behalf of the BMK (Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology) and the BMAW (Federal Ministry of Labor and Economic Affairs), the AWS, in cooperation with the FFG (Austrian Research Promotion Agency), acts as a joint agency for the implementation of IPCEI subsidies granted to Austrian companies. Additionally, the Joint Implementing Agency is integrated into the national program development and strategy process, national decision-making on the formation and implementation of new IPCEI initiatives, as well as in the consultation of companies in the course of the notification process of the European Commission.

Participation in an IPCEI for Austrian companies is essentially initiated with the submission of a project outline combined with an Austrian call for expression of interest (see IPCEI-FAQ).

At the moment, no call for expression of interest is open.

IPCEI Important Projects of Common European Interest

Aktuelles

Nach der Genehmigung des ersten IPCEI Wasserstoff (Hy2Tech) im Juli dieses Jahres, genehmigte die Europäische Kommission am 21. September 2022 auch das zweite wichtige Vorhaben von gemeinsamem europäischem Interesse im Bereich Wasserstoff. Österreich beteiligt sich an diesem sogenannten IPCEI (Important Projects of Common European Interest) Hy2Use mit einem Schwerpunkt auf die Dekarbonisierung der Industrie mittels Anwendung von erneuerbarem Wasserstoff mit einem hochinnovativen Konsortialprojekt zwei österreichischer Unternehmen.

Weitere Informationen zum IPCEI Hy2Use finden Sie in der Presseaussendung des BMK. 

Über IPCEI - Important Projects of Common European Interest

Mit IPCEI hat die Europäische Union ein spezielles Regulativ zur Stärkung strategisch bedeutender europäischer Wertschöpfungsketten entwickelt. Hierdurch soll die Förderung transnationaler Kooperationen und die Abbildung der Wertschöpfungskette von der angewandten Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation bis zur erstmaligen industriellen Umsetzung sowie zu entscheidenden Infrastrukturvorhaben im Umwelt-, Energie und Verkehrsbereich durch staatliche Beihilfen ermöglicht werden (siehe Website des BMK).

 

IPCEI-Initiativen adressieren strategisch bedeutende Vorhaben, an denen sich ausgewählte Unternehmen bzw. Forschungseinrichtungen in Folge der Nominierung durch teilnehmende Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union bzw. Staaten des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum sowie nach Notifizierung durch die Europäische Kommission bzw. durch die EFTA-Überwachungsbehörde beteiligen können. Diese Einzelprojekte werden infolge i.d.R. durch den jeweiligen Mitgliedstaat mit staatlichen Beihilfen außerhalb der AGVO (Allgemeine Gruppenfreistellungsverordnung) unterstützt.

Österreich nimmt derzeit mit insgesamt neun Unternehmen an zwei Initiativen von gemeinsamem europäischem Interesse teil – einem im Bereich Batterien sowie einem im Bereich Mikroelektronik (ME). Des Weiteren beabsichtigt Österreich die Teilnahme an drei weiteren in Umsetzung befindlichen IPCEI-Initiativen – einem weiteren im Bereich Mikroelektronik mit Fokus auf Connecting Technologies (ME/CT) sowie zwei IPCEI im Bereich erneuerbarer Wasserstoff (H2) mit Fokus auf die Entwicklung von Technologien (Technology), beziehungsweise auf die Dekarbonisierung der Industrie (Industry).

Darüber hinaus wird auch der Bedarf einer Teilnahme an weiteren, auf europäischer Ebene in Konzeption befindlichen, IPCEI-Initiativen überprüft (aktuell IPCEI Photovoltaik).

Im Auftrag des BMK (Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie) bzw. des BMAW (Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Wirtschaft) wickelt die aws in Kooperation mit der FFG (Forschungs-Förderungs-Gesellschaft), als gemeinsame Abwicklungsstelle IPCEI-Förderungen für österreichische Unternehmen ab. Darüber hinaus ist die gemeinsame Abwicklungsstelle in den nationalen Programmweiterentwicklungs- und Strategieprozess, der nationalen Entscheidung über Formierung und Beteiligung neuer IPCEI-Initiativen, sowie der Beratung von Unternehmen in Zuge der Notifizierung durch die Europäische Kommission involviert.

Für österreichische Unternehmen starten die Teilnahme an einem IPCEI grundsätzlich mit der Einreichung einer Projektskizze iZm. einem österreichischen Aufruf zur Interessensbekundung (siehe IPCEI-FAQ).

Aktuell gibt es keinen offenen Aufruf!

 

Newsletter

Jetzt registrieren und informiert bleiben! 

Jetzt anmelden!